If the ball drops into the hole but the 10 seconds of waiting has passed you are required to add one penalty stroke to your score.
The video below is a great example of how the rule can be bent by a slow walk, a stare, a slow process of taking a stance. Note, in our eyes Zach J. was not intentionally bending the rules but his actions may have broken them. The commentators talk of applying a penalty but we're not clear on the final outcome.
Become an Accredited Publisher and get your name in lights on Why We Love Golf. If you’re a passionate writer and researcher join the community, publish your own questions, and be recognised by your golfing peers.