If your ball comes to rest on the putting green but is moved by the wind, do you replace it or play from the new position where the ball comes to rest?
Category: Rules of the Game
It depends on whether you have marked your ball.
There is no penalty and the ball must be played from the new spot (Rule 9.3). This is unless the ball has been previously marked and replaced. In this case the exception in Rule 13.1d applies and the ball is replaced on its original spot.
More interesting reading and links of interest
Another way to remember this rule is to remember that on the putting green, your ball “owns the spot” after you lift it until you play your next stroke.
This approach represents a change from the rule as set out in Decision 18-1/12 on the Rules of Golf that applied before January 2019.